National Holidays

In China, there are seven statutory holidays nationwide, of which four of them are traditional Chinese festivals, seeing the details following,

One-day holiday for New Year’s Day (on Jan.1)
Three-day holiday for Spring Festival (on Spring Festival Eve, the first and second day of lunar January)
One-day holiday for Tomb-sweeping Festival (around April 4 and April 5)
One-day holiday for International Labor Day (on May. 1)
One-day holiday for Dragon Boat Day (the fifth day of lunar May)
One-day holiday for Mid-autumn Festival (the fifteenth day of lunar August)
Three-day holiday for National Day (on Oct. 1, 2 and 3)

In general, adjacent weekends are adjusted to join these festival holidays; thus, these one-day festival holidays are adjusted to be three-day holidays, while three-day festival holidays are adjusted to be seven-day holidays.


Top Topics

Chinese Kung Fu

Far and wide known as Kungfu (功夫) all over the world, Chinese martial art is also called Wugong (武功) or Wushu (武术) at home by Chinese people. It ca...

Chinese Tea

Being a vivid Chinese cultural specialty as well as Kungfu and traditional Chinese medicine, Chinese tea has been being developed in China for a long ...

Chinese Cuisine

"Food is the first necessity of the people" is a famous Chinese old saying, which reflects that Chinese have had paid much attention to food si...